Saturday, March 25, 2017

Sounds of the Day #77/2017: UnicaZürn (1) / 400PPM (1) / Spatial (2) / Yann Novak (1) / Last Unit (1) / Morton Subotnick (1,2) /

UnicaZürn - Transpandorem (2017)

400PPM - Locked Grooves (2017)

Spatial - A Music of Sound Systems [CLIPS] (2017)

Yann Novak - Ornamentation (2017)

Fabio Perletta - Ichinen (2017)

Last Unit - Lost In Crystal Canyons (2017)

(LABEL INFO) This debut release is a deep listening ambient drone meditation on cyberpunk. Headphones recommended. Skipping forbidden. Immersing allowed. All sounds used in this album were recorded with a special coil microphone, capturing the naturally inaudible electromagnetic emissions of the mainboard and componentes of a dual CPU Supermicro rack server. The recordings were resampled, mixed and mangled with a Yamaha MT-120 multitrack cassette recorder, a Roland SP-404SX sampler and a bunch of stompboxes, most prominently a Jomox T-Resonator. None of the tracks were arranged, edited or mastered on a computer but only performed live by Last Unit. The obvious medium for the final work is an electromagnetic one. Get the limited edition cassette! The humming beneath the physical matter. Unified Field. The server as a neuron. Cyberspace/mind emerging from electrified matter/brain which itself is a manifestation of energy/consciousness.

Morton Subotnick - The Wild Bull (1968)

Morton Subotnick - Silver Apples of the Moon (1967)